Life After Almost Divorce (cont.)

Fracking Fringe Friends

I was sitting outside a Starbucks waiting for my daughters and stbx (soon to be ex) to show up – it was our morning to switch care – he had them the night before.

A work acquaintance walking towards the entrance saw me, and walked over to my bench.  She smiled and asked, “How’s it going?”

“Fine.”  My brief answer because: I didn’t want to talk, and I knew where she would likely go with this conversation, as she was friends of friends who knew about my divorce.

She continued:  “You waiting here for your daughters.” (guess she had seen me do this before).

“Yes.”  I cringed.

“Must be tough?” she said. She’s a sweet, nice person, but I barely know her – did group work with her once.

“It’s fine, the girls are used to it.”I kept my answer short – but she continued.  The questions continued, and I finally figured – oh let me talk about the weather – that will send a message to buggar off the topic.  It did.

Fracking friends – like fracking for oil.  Breaking into places you’re not naturally invited. I hate it – when I ‘m going through life crisis’s, like when I lost my child, or when something big and bad happens.  My close friends know to follow my lead – not ask unless I bring it up.  Others – acquaintances wouldn’t dare ask – they just know it’s not their business. But fringe friends – there’s the danger. They think they know enough to get information – and I try to kindly imagine they are just very concerned about the trama, real or imagined.  AND I FREAKING HATE THAT.

Best bet: don’t ask, unless you are the closest of friends. Offer a Starbucks

Looking for Divorce Resources?  I’ve listed some that really helped me under the Personal and Legal Advice tab on my WordPress Divorce Direction page. Divorce Direction

About Dee

I teach English at a local community college and am raising two children; I like to paint, write, pray, read, hike and travel.
This entry was posted in divorce and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

