Life After Almost Divorce

So I’m sitting in Starbucks.  Just dropped my kids off at a summer program.  Stressed this spring with getting car/house titles changed, insurance issues, figuring out how to use online banking then screwing it up and getting late charges.  Learning how to fix stuff without help – dealing with no dryer for 2 months.  Going to bed without pillow talk and sometimes waking to a quiet house.  Yes, I know – 1st world problems.  But I’m still a person, ain’t I?

Everyone asks, are you happy now?  They know the tough years that preceded.  Not sure I’m happier, but I’m more at peace.  As much as I made a try at it for many years , I was living a facade – trying to keep afloat a ship that had long sunk.th

Anyway, I think I’m cresting in this divorce stuff work.  The final court date is next month after over two years since our first talk.  Guess that’s what I get for divorcing a lawyer – but I understand this is not unusual timing.

I’m okay to wake up next to my dog.  Besides, she has no one but me either, and she seems pretty happy.   Funny good things have come from this all – like my new single friend Brenna – and I get up every morning to bike early – like I need to – and I’ve grown to love it. New life, new chapter, I’ll look at this as like going off to college.  Different, scary, unclear, but with hopeful good coming.

Good day to you!

About Dee

I teach English at a local community college and am raising two children; I like to paint, write, pray, read, hike and travel.
This entry was posted in divorce, Lawyers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

