Fun Fact: Your Ex is a Rock Star

th

Maybe not.  Mine isn’t.  And I’m a child of divorce – I was raised in a home without my dad – my mother walked out one day with us 5 children then divorced him under long-term abuse.

But I never knew that.  My mom was kind enough, bright enough, self-sacrificing enough to not bad mouth him. And as a young girl I only knew him as the Daddy I loved, who loved me and sent me Valentines, and wiped my tears – the Daddy who’d sing to me.

Through the years I would visit him, and he me, despite their conflicts, which were kept from me.  As a teen, I was visiting him in different institutions in which he’d been place due to their legal conflicts.  But he was still my Daddy, and no one loved me like he did.

What is one benefit to mentioning your ex’s deficiencies, especially repeatedly?  Whatever you think, whatever his deficiencies, whatever her irrationality, your child only is hurt when you bring these to light.  Share your woes with them when they are 30.  But for now, your child needs someone they look up to, who they place just beneath God.  Don’t take that from them.  They need a rock star for the only childhood they will ever have.

 

See also Making Childhood Fun Through Divorce:    https://divorcedirection.wordpress.com/2015/04/11/life-is-beautiful/

About Dee

I teach English at a local community college and am raising two children; I like to paint, write, pray, read, hike and travel.
This entry was posted in divorce, Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

